Crazy Things I’ve Seen on the Camino: Creative Parking

Most every day on The Camino I saw something interesting, something I’d never seen before, something crazy, something ironic, or something that made me burst out loud laughing.

Remember the saying, “When in Rome, do as the Romans do.” There’s a reason the refrain doesn’t go, for example, “When in Paris, do as the Parisians do.” In Rome, in Italy actually, things work well but in a manner quite distinct (and often frustrating for foreigners) from other first world countries of the west. One can try to understand it, but understanding isn’t always helpful. For a harmonious life, one has simply to accept and to respond accordingly. It’s best to keep an open mind and suspend judgment. Things, in general, are neither better or worse here or there; they’re merely different.

Any one who has driven a car in a city anywhere in the world knows that parking is a challenge. That, at least, is no different in Lugo, Spain. Still I was surprised, and amused, to see one person’s solution to the problem of parking.

The car is, after all, off the street and off the sidewalk (mostly) but I don't think I would try this myself.
The car is, after all, off the street and off the sidewalk (mostly) but I don’t think I, myself, would attempt to park in a shop window.
2 thoughts on “Crazy Things I’ve Seen on the Camino: Creative Parking

  1. karynriedell

    After reading your post, I found myself thinking about cultural differences. I just now read a yahoo article about the 10 friendliest cities in the world. Three of them are in Ireland: Cork, Galway, and Dublin.

    Oh yes, Edinburgh is also on the list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

